Rodney Jones


Author's Bio

Rodney Jones, born in Alabama and educated at the University of Alabama and the University of North Carolina at Greensboro, has published widely in leading magazines, in The Oxford Book of Contemporary American Poetry, and in eight editions of The Best American Poetry. His books include Imaginary Logic (2011); Salvation Blues: 100 Poems, 1985-2005, which won the Kingsley Tufts Prize and was shortlisted for the Griffin International Poetry Prize; Elegy for the Southern Drawl (1999), a Pulitzer finalist; Things That Happen Once (1996), a Los Angeles Times Book Award finalist; and Transparent Gestures (1989), winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award. Other honors include a Guggenheim Fellowship and the Jean Stein Award of the American Academy of Arts and Letters. A professor and distinguished scholar emeritus at Southern Illinois University Carbondale, he is a member of the Fellowship of Southern Writers and teaches in the MFA program at Warren Wilson College.

Publications & Prizes

Imaginary Logic (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2011)
Salvation Blues: 100 Poems, 1985-2005 (Houghton Mifflin, 2006)
Kingdom of the Instant (Houghton Mifflin, 2002)
Elegy for the Southern Drawl (Houghton Mifflin, 1999)
Things That Happen Once (Houghton Mifflin, 1996)
Apocalyptic Narrative and Other Poems (Houghton Mifflin, 1993)
Transparent Gestures (Houghton Mifflin, 1989)
The Unborn (Atlantic Monthly Press, 1985)
The Story They Told Us of Light (University of Alabama Press, 1980)
Prizes won: 

James Boatwright Prize (Shenandoah, 2011); Kingsley Tufts Poetry Prize (2007); Shortlist, Griffin International Poetry Prize (2007); Harper Lee Award (2003); Haynes Poetry Prize (2001); Finalist, Pulitzer Prize (2000); Southeastern Booksellers Association Award (1999); Finalist, Los Angeles Times Book Award (1997); George Kent Prize (Poetry, 1995); National Book Critics Circle Award (1990); Jean Stein Award for Poetry (American Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters, 1989); Kenyon Review Award for Literary Excellence in Poetry (1989); Lavan Award (Academy of American Poets, 1986); CCLM Award (General Electric, 1986); Guggenheim Fellowship in Poetry (1985); Frederick Bock Prize (Poetry, 1984); National Endowment for the Arts Creative Writing Fellowship (1984); Theodore Roethke Prize (Poetry Northwest, 1983)

More Information

Gives readings: 
Travels for readings: 
Born in: 
Raised in: 
Faulkville, AL
Please note: All information in the Directory is provided by the listed writers or their representatives.
Last update: Nov 18, 2014