Patrick Errington


Author's Bio

Patrick James Errington ( is a poet, translator, and academic from the prairies of Alberta, Canada. He is the author of two chapbooks, Glean (ignitionpress, 2018) and Field Studies (Clutag Press, 2019) and is the French translator (with Laure Gall) of PJ Harvey and Seamus Murphey’s The Hollow of the Hand, entitled Au creux de la main (Éditions l’Âge d’Homme, 2017). His poems have feature in numerous journals and anthologies, including Boston Review, The Iowa Review, Best New Poets, Oxford Poetry, Copper Nickel, West Branch, CV2, Passages North, Diagram, Cider Press Review, Horsethief, and others. His poetry won The 2017 Wigtown Poetry Competition, The London Magazine Poetry Competition (2016), the Plough Prize (2018), and was commended in The 2016 National Poetry Competition (UK). .

A graduate of the University of Alberta (BA, 2011), where he studied with Nobel laureate Derek Walcott, Patrick holds an MFA in writing and literary translation from Columbia University (2015) and a PhD from the University of St Andrews, where his research in embodied poetics and hermeneutics was supervised by Professors Don Paterson and John Burnside. He currently teaches literature at several universities in Scotland, where he is also editor-in-chief of the St Andrews-based, online literary magazine, The Scores.

Publications & Prizes

Best New Poets (University of Virginia Press, 2018)
Best New Poets (University of Virginia Press, 2016)
Journals: ,
American Literary Review
, ,
Cider Press Review
, , , , , ,
Oxford Poetry
, ,
Prizes won: 

The Wigtown Poetry Competition (2017 – first prize) | The McLellan Poetry Competition (2017 – third prize) | The National Poetry Competition (2016 – commended) | The London Magazine Poetry Competition (2016 – first prize) | The 2015 Flambard Poetry Prize (2015  – second prize)

More Information

Gives readings: 
Travels for readings: 
Prefers to work with: 
Fluent in: 
English, French
Born in: 
Please note: All information in the Directory is provided by the listed writers or their representatives.
Last update: Apr 04, 2019