karla k. morton


2436 I-35 East, Suite 376 #166
Denton, TX 76205

Author's Bio

karla k. morton, the 2010 Texas Poet Laureate, is a member of the Texas Institute of Letters, a graduate of Texas A&M University, and Board Member of the Greater Denton Arts Council. Described as “one of the most adventurous voices in American poetry,” she has been featured on Good Morning Texas, NPR, ABC News, CBS News and in countless newspapers, blogs and magazines. A Betsy Colquitt Award Winner and twice an Indie National Book Award Winner, she has been widely published in literary journals, and is the author of eight books of poetry: Wee Cowrin’ Timorous Beastie (a 17th Century Scottish Epic book/CD, Lagniappe Publishing), Redefining Beauty (Dos Gatos Press), Becoming Superman (Zone Press), Stirring Goldfish (a Sufi poetry book), Karla K. Morton: New and Selected Works Series (TCU Press), Names We’ve Never Known, (The Texas Review Press), and Passion, Art, Community: Denton, Texas, in Word and Image (The City of Denton, Texas). Her seventh book - "No End of Vision: Texas as Seen by Two Laureates" is an ekphrastic collaboration with 2005 Texas Poet Laureate Alan Birkelbach, with Morton’s photos inspiring Birkelbach’s poetry. A native Texan, Morton has trekked thousands of miles across Texas and beyond -- bringing poetry and the arts into schools, colleges, universities, civic groups, cancer support groups, and festivals in communities all across the states.

Publications & Prizes

Redefining Beauty (Dos Gatos Press, 2013)
Karla K. Morton: New and Selected Poems (Texas Christian University Press, 2010)
Names We've Never Known (Texas A&M University Press, 2010)
Stirring Goldfish (Finishing Line Press, 2010)
Prizes won: 

Named Texas Poet Laureate in 2010, two-time Indie National Book Award winner, Betsy Colquitt Award winner, and member of the Texas Insititute of Letters.

More Information

Gives readings: 
Travels for readings: 
Identifies as: 
Prefers to work with: 
Fluent in: 
Born in: 
Ft Worth
Raised in: 
Rendon, TX
Please note: All information in the Directory is provided by the listed writers or their representatives.
Last update: May 15, 2019