Janet Kaplan


Department of English
Hempstead, NY 11549

Author's Bio

Janet Kaplan is the author of three books: The Groundnote, published by Alice James Books, The Glazier's Country, winner of the 2003 Poets Out Loud Prize and published by Fordham University Press, and Dreamlife of a Philanthropist: Prose Poems & Prose Sonnets, selected by Cornelius Eady, Orlando Menes, and Joyelle McSweeney for the 2011 Ernest Sandeen Prize, and just out from the University of Notre Dame Press. "...[I]n poems whose wit cannot be told apart from their momentum, we find thinking at work against itself, undoing conclusion, battling intent, in order to recover some lost ground of form's unconscious foundation," poet Dan Beachy-Quick writes about Dreamlife. And Fence critic Karla Kelsey writes, "[T]he voice here charms, leading us into a landscape of Tender Buttons meets Claes Oldenburg or Rene Magritte." Janet is the publisher and editor of Red Glass Books, a new chapbook series, whose first volume, Swimming to America, by Patricia Spears Jones is forthcoming this fall. She is a professor of poetry and creative writing at Hofstra University.

Publications & Prizes

An Introduction to the Prose Poem (Firewheel Editions, 2010)
Dreamlife of a Philanthropist: Prose Poems & Prose Sonnets (University of Notre Dame Press, 2011)
The Glazier's Country (Fordham University Press, 2003)
The Groundnote (Alice James Books, 1998)
5 A.M.
American Letters & Commentary
Barrow Street
Denver Quarterly
Hotel Amerika
, , ,
Open City
Paris Review
, ,
Terra Incognita
Prizes won: 

2011 Ernest Sandeen Prize in Poetry, 2005 New York Foundation for the Arts Fellowship in Poetry, 2003 Poets Out Loud Prize

Personal Favorites

What I'm reading now: 
Attack of the Difficult Poems by Charles Bernstein, Wabi-Sabi by Leonard Koren, The Necropastoral by Joyelle McSweeney

More Information

Gives readings: 
Travels for readings: 
Prefers to work with: 
Born in: 
Raised in: 
Bronx, NY
New York
Please note: All information in the Directory is provided by the listed writers or their representatives.
Last update: Jun 13, 2011