Jane Flett

Poet, Fiction Writer

Berlin, Germany

Author's Bio

Jane Flett is a Scottish author based in Berlin. She is represented by Marina de Pass of the Soho Agency (UK) and Alexis Hurley of Inkwell Management (US).

Her fiction has been commissioned for BBC Radio 4, Highly Commended in the Bridport Prize, and featured in Electric Literature’s Recommended Reading. She’s the author of the poetry chapbooks Quick, to the Hothouse (Dancing Girl Press) and Mashnotes (Pitymilk Press), and her work has been anthologised in the Best British Poetry.

Jane has been awarded residencies at Can Serrat, Fondation OBRAS, Villa Sarkia, Zvona i Nari, Moniak Mhor, and the New Orleans Writing Residency. She has performed her work widely at festivals and on the radio, including Edinburgh International Book Festival, Berlin Poesie, Berlin Stadtsprachen, and the Oxford Literary Fringe. In 2020, Jane was a recipient of the Berlin Senate Stipend for non-German literature.

Jane is also one half of the riot grrrl band Razor Cunts, a founder of Queer Stories Berlin, and a creative writing tutor for The Reader Berlin.

Publications & Prizes


The Golden Hour Book 2 (Forest Publications, 2009)
The Cats' Gravity (Forest Publications, 2009)
Journals: ,
Bartleby Snopes
Bound Off
, ,
Johnny America
, ,
The Medulla Review


Best British Poetry 2012 (Salt Publishing, 2012)
Quick, to the Hothouse (Dancing Girl Press, 2012)
3AM Magazine
, ,
The Delinquent
, ,
Prizes won: 


Commonwealth Short Story Prize Longlist, 2022
Berlin Senate Work Stipend for Non-German literature (€24,000), 2020
Columbia Journal Winter Contest, Finalist, 2019
Bridport Prize, Highly Commended, 2019
Indieberlin’s English-language Writer of the Year, 2015
Wigleaf’s Top 50 short fictions, 2014
BBC Radio 4’s New Year, New Writers, 2012
SLS-Disquiet Literary Award, shortlisted, 2012
Best British Poetry (Salt Publishing), 2012
Scottish Book Trust New Writer Award, January 2010


More Information

Gives readings: 
Travels for readings: 
Prefers to work with: 
Fluent in: 
Born in: 
Please note: All information in the Directory is provided by the listed writers or their representatives.
Last update: Sep 23, 2022