Frank LaRue Owen


Author's Bio

Frank LaRue Owen's poetry over the years has been a blend of styles ranging from free verse and haiku to dream-poems and haibun (prose with poetry). His first three books of poetry, The School of Soft-Attention, The Temple of Warm Harmony, and Stirrup of the Sun & Moon, were all published by Homebound Publications.

In the Spring of 2017, The School of Soft-Attention was selected as the winner of the 2017 Homebound Publications Poetry Prize, and garnered a Silver Nautilus Book Award in 2018.

Also in 2018, one of the poems from The School of Soft-Attention, "The Bouquet of the Last Direction", was nominated for a Pushcart Prize.

Frank’s second book of poetry, The Temple of Warm Harmony, released in August 2019, was nominated in 2020 for a Mississippi Institute of Arts and Letters Award.

The last book in the series with Homebound, Stirrup of the Sun & Moon, was released in April 2020.

Publications & Prizes

Courting the Wild: Love Affairs with the Land (Hiraeth Press, 2008)
Stirrup of the Sun & Moon (Homebound Publications, 2020)
The Temple of Warm Harmony (Homebound Publications, 2019)
The School of Soft-Attention (Homebound Publications, 2018)
Journals: ,
Written River
Prizes won: 

2017 Homebound Publications Poetry Prize

2018 Silver Nautilus Book Award

2020 Nominated for a Mississippi Institute of Arts & Letters Award

Personal Favorites

Favorite authors: 
Otagaki Rengetsu, Matsuo Basho, Yosa Buson, Kobayashi Issa, Ryokan, Santoka Taneda, Chiyo-Ni, Ikkyu, William Scott Wilson, Red Pine (Bill Porter), David Hinton, D.T. Suzuki, Mary Oliver, Juan Ramon Jimenez, Jim Harrison, Joy Harjo, Chris La Tray, W.S. Merwin, Bai Juyi
What I'm reading now: 
The Life and Zen Haiku Poetry of Santoka Taneda by Sumita Oyama, Wind in the Pines: Classic Writings of the Way of Tea as a Buddhist Path by Dennis Hirota

More Information

Gives readings: 
Travels for readings: 
Prefers to work with: 
Fluent in: 
Born in: 
Biloxi, MS
Raised in: 
Atlanta, GA
Please note: All information in the Directory is provided by the listed writers or their representatives.
Last update: Jun 28, 2022