Domnica Radulescu

Fiction Writer

514 Taylor Street
Lexington, VA 24450
Phone: 
540 463 6409

Author's Bio

I am an American writer of Romanian origin, living in the United States where I arrived in 1983 as a political refugee. I live, write, and function in the hyphenated spaces between cultures, languages and artistic universes. I am the author of three critically acclaimed novels, Train to Trieste (Knopf 2008 &2009), Black Sea Twilight (Transworld 2011 & 2012) and Country of Red Azaleas (Hachette 2016) and of award winning plays, of which one, Exile Is My Home was produced off, off Broadway, at the Theater for the New City in New York, in 2016. My first novel Train to Trieste was translated into thirteen languages and received the Best Fiction Award from the Library of Virginia in 2009 in competition with best selling and Pulitzer prize winning authors. I am twice a Fulbright scholar and winner of the 2011 Outstanding Faculty Award from the State of Virginia. The internationally bestselling award-winning author Sandra Cisneros said the following about my writing: “Domnica Radulescu enriches American letters with her Romanian perspective. We are lucky to call her ours” (2008, endorsement for Train to Trieste). My second novel Black Sea Twilight was on the top 100 bestselling list in the UK in 2011. And The Associated Press stated about my recent novel Country of Red Azaleas that “Radulescu’s prose is fluid and languid even when she is describing the madness of war. Her pacing is perfect…,” while BookPage considered it "A tightly wrought, beautiful story of friendship...Radulescu creates images that lodge themselves firmly in your consciousness, giving you ideas to ponder long after you turn the final page. In the tradition of Elena Ferrante and Khaled Hosseini, COUNTRY OF RED AZALEAS prevails as a true testament to a bond that transcends the devastation of war."

I have recently completed a memoir titled Dream in a Suitcase. A Story of My Immigrant Life. Here are links to my personal website as well as to my Wikipedia page: http://www.domnicaradulescu.com/

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Domnica_Radulescu

Writers Retreats: 

Publications & Prizes

Book:
Train to Trieste (Alfred A. Knopf, 2008)
Prizes won: 

2009 Library of Virginia Best Fiction Award for Train to Trieste

2013 - Runner up from the Jane Chambers Plywriting Award for the play The Town with Very Nice People

2014 - Honorable Mention from the Jane Chambers Playwriting Award for the play Exile Is My Home.

Personal Favorites

Favorite authors: 
Marguerite Duras Isabel Allende Tony Morrison Andrei Makine
What I'm reading now: 
Le Testament francais by Andrei Makine

More Information

Gives readings: 
Yes
Travels for readings: 
Yes
Identifies as: 
European American
Prefers to work with: 
Adults, At Risk Youth, Children, Immigration, Incarcerated individuals, LGBTQ, Teenagers, Women
Fluent in: 
English, French, Italian, Romanian
Born in: 
Bucharest
Raised in: 
Bucharest
Romania
Please note: All information in the Directory is provided by the listed writers or their representatives.
Last update: May 21, 2019