Anna Journey

Creative Nonfiction Writer, Poet

Chris Clemans The Clegg Agency
New York, NY 10010-7707

Author's Bio

Anna Journey is the author of the essay collection An Arrangement of Skin (Counterpoint, 2017) and the poetry collections The Atheist Wore Goat Silk (LSU Press, 2017), Vulgar Remedies (LSU Press, 2013), and If Birds Gather Your Hair for Nesting (University of Georgia Press, 2009), which was selected by Thomas Lux for the National Poetry Series. Journey has received fellowships from the Academy of American Poets, the National Endowment for the Arts, and Yaddo. She is an assistant professor of English at the University of Southern California.

Publications & Prizes

Creative Nonfiction

An Arrangement of Skin (Counterpoint Press, 2017)


The Best American Poetry (Scribner, 2013)
Best New Poets 2008 (Samovar Press, 2008)
The Atheist Wore Goat Silk (Louisiana State University Press, 2017)
Vulgar Remedies (Louisiana State University Press, 2013)
If Birds Gather Your Hair for Nesting (The University of Georgia Press, 2009)
Journals: , ,
Kenyon Review
Prizes won: 

Creative Writing Fellowship in Poetry, National Endowment for the Arts; National Poetry Series, Judge: Thomas Lux; Martha Walsh Pulver Residency for a Poet, Creative Writing Fellowship, Corporation of Yaddo; Sycamore Review Wabash Prize for Poetry, Judge: Tony Hoagland; Diner Poetry Contest, First Place, Judge: Betsy Sholl; Creative Writing Fellowship, Corporation of Yaddo; Work-study Scholarship in Poetry, Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference; Inprint/Barthelme Fellowship in Poetry, University of Houston, Judge: Brenda Shaughnessy; University Presidential Fellowship, University of Houston; J.A. and Isabel Elkins Fellowship, Inprint, Inc; Graduate School Thesis Fellowship, Virginia Commonwealth University; Catherine and Joan Byrne Poetry Prize, Academy of American Poets, Judge: Ron Smith

More Information

Gives readings: 
Travels for readings: 
Prefers to work with: 
Born in: 
Please note: All information in the Directory is provided by the listed writers or their representatives.
Last update: Jul 22, 2016