Warren Wilson College

MFA Program

Program Established: 
Asheville, NC
Poetry, Fiction
2 Years
Incoming Class Size: 
15 each semester
Application Deadline: 
September 1, 2018
Application Fee: 
Contact E-mail: 
Contact Name: 
Adam Beeson
Core Faculty Includes: 

Poetry: Debra Allbery, Marianne Boruch, Gabrielle Calvocoressi, Stephen Dobyns, Daisy Fried, Jennifer Grotz, Brooks Haxton, Rodney Jones, A. Van Jordan, Sandra Lim, James Longenbach, Maurice Manning, Heather McHugh, Martha Rhodes, Alan R. Shapiro, Mary Szybist, Dan Tobin, Ellen Bryant Voigt, Connie Voisine, Alan Williamson, Eleanor Wilner, Monica Youn, C. Dale Young

Fiction: Dean Bakopoulos, Andrea Barrett, Charles Baxter, Robert Boswell, Liam Callanan, Christopher Castellani, Lan Samantha Chang, Jeremy Gavron, Lauren Groff, David Haynes, Caitlin Horrocks, T. Geronimo Johnson, Kevin McIlvoy, Antonya Nelson, Peter Orner, Michael Parker, Kirstin Valdez Quade, Robin Romm, Joan Silber, Dominic Smith, Debra Spark, Sarah Stone, Peter Turchi, Laura van den Berg

Funding/Employment Opportunities: 

The program offers partial funding through MFA grants, the Rona Jaffe Foundation Graduate Fellowship, grants and scholarships from the Holden Fund for Diversity, the Rodney Jack Scholarship, the Lisel Mueller Scholarship, the Renate Wood Scholarship, Levis Funds, and more.

Affiliated Publications/Publishers: 
Other Features: 

Students attend two 10-day residencies each year, in January and July, at the Warren Wilson College campus in Swannanoa, North Carolina.

Lectures and readings by MFA program faculty are open to the public.

The application deadline is March 1 for the July residency and September 1 for the January residency.