University of Virginia

MFA Program

Program Established: 
Charlottesville, VA
Poetry, Fiction
2 Years
Incoming Class Size: 
Application Deadline: 
December 15, 2018
Application Fee: 
Contact Name: 
Jeb Livingood
Core Faculty Includes: 

Poetry: Rita Dove, Paul Guest, Debra Nystrom, Gregory Orr, Lisa Russ Spaar
Fiction: Jeffery Renard Allen, Jane Alison, John Casey, Elizabeth Denton, Jeb Livingood, Christopher Tilghman

Funding/Employment Opportunities: 

The program offers full funding. All admitted students receive $20,000 per academic year in the standard two-year program. First-year students have no teaching obligations. Second-year students teach one section of intro poetry or fiction writing each term. An optional third year of $10,000 in teaching support is available.

Affiliated Publications/Publishers: 
Other Features: 

The program hosts the Kapnick Distinguished Writer-in-Residence Program and the Rea Writer Series, which includes weeklong visits and one-on-one conferences with notable writers. The program also awards the $10,000 Henfield Prize, given for the best work of fiction written by a student in the program.

Students are not required to take the GREs for admission.


Adam Giannelli, Chad Harbach, Greg Jackson, Thomas Pierce, Hannah Pittard, Safiya Sinclair, Austin Smith