University of Texas, James A. Michener Center for Writers

See writers who attended this program

MFA Program

Program Established: 
Austin, TX
Poetry, Fiction
3 Years
Incoming Class Size: 
Application Deadline: 
December 1, 2020
Application Fee: 
Contact E-mail: 
Contact Name: 
Billy Fatzinger
Core Faculty Includes: 

Poetry: Joanna Klink, Lisa Olstein, Roger Reeves, Dean Young
Fiction: Edward Carey, Oscar Casares, Peter LaSalle, Bret Anthony Johnston, Elizabeth McCracken, Deb Olin Unferth
Screenwriting: Stuart Kelban, Richard Lewis, Cindy McCreery, Beau Thorne
Playwriting: Annie Baker, Liz Engelman, Branden Jacobs-Jenkins, Kirk Lynn, KJ Sanchez

Funding/Employment Opportunities: 

The program offers full funding through James A. Michener Fellowships.

Affiliated Publications/Publishers: 
Other Features: 

The program also offers degrees in screenwriting and playwriting.

The program hosts a visiting writer series and a reading series.


George Brant, Frances Ya-Chu Cowhig, Matthew Dickman, Michael Dickman, Jesse Donaldson, Carrie Fountain, Brian Hart, Smith Henderson, Anna Maria Hong, Fiona McFarlane, Carson Kreitzer, Kirk Lynn, Kelly Luce, Brian McGreevy, Michael McGriff, Karan Mahajan, Abhijat Joshi, Philipp Meyer, Alix Ohlin, Kevin Powers, Lara Prescott, Emily Rapp, Roger Reeves, Virginia Reeves, Domenica Ruta, Sam Sax, Joseph Skibell, Dominic Smith, Rivers Solomon.