University of New Mexico, Albuquerque

MFA Program

Program Established: 
Albuquerque, NM
Poetry, Fiction, Creative Nonfiction
3 Years
Incoming Class Size: 
Application Deadline: 
January 15, 2023
Application Fee: 
Contact E-mail: 
Contact Name: 
Gregory Martin
Core Faculty Includes: 

Poetry: Andrew Bourelle, Michelle Brooks, Marisa P. Clark, Lisa D. Chavez, Diane Thiel

Fiction: Andrew Bourelle, Michelle Brooks, Marisa P. Clark, Daniel Mueller, Julie Shigekuni

Nonfiction: Steve Benz, Michelle Brooks, Gregory Martin, Diane Thiel

Funding/Employment Opportunities: 

The program offers full funding primarily through teaching assistantships, which are guaranteed for the full three years of the program. Graduate assistantships, scholarships, and other awards are also available.

Affiliated Publications/Publishers: 
Other Features: 

The program hosts the Works-in-Progress monthly reading series and the Joseph M. Russo Chair in Creative Writing, a three-year visiting position most recently held by nonfiction writers Mark Sundeen, Emily Rapp, José Orduña, and Justin St. Germain.


Bonny Arning, Paul Bogard, Dan Darling, Lisa Gill, Gary Jackson, Celia Laskey, Casandra Lopez, Juan Morales, Erika L. Sanchez, Natalie Scenters-Zapico, Richard Vargas, Izzy Wasserstein, Tanaya Winder