University of Nebraska, Omaha

MFA Program

Program Established: 
Omaha, NE
Poetry, Fiction, Creative Nonfiction
Incoming Class Size: 
Application Deadline: 
October 1, 2016
Application Fee: 
Contact E-mail: 
Contact Name: 
Jenna Lucas Finn
Core Faculty Includes: 

Poetry: Allison Adelle Hedge Coke, Kate Gale, Teri Youmans Grimm, Art Homer, Steve Langan, Jim Peterson, Elizabeth Powell, Lee Ann Roripaugh, William Trowbridge
Fiction: Richard Duggin, Amy Hassinger, Patricia Lear, Karen Gettert Shoemaker, Catherine Texier, Charles Wyatt
Nonfiction: Pope Brock

Funding/Employment Opportunities: 

The program offers scholarships and writing prizes.

Other Features: 

This program requires students to complete four 16-week at-home semesters and five 10-day conference-style residencies held at Lied Lodge in Nebraska City. Students can pursue tracks in fiction, nonfiction, poetry, or playwriting.

The priority deadline is October 1 for the winter residency/spring semester, and May 1 for the summer residency/fall semester. General applications are considered on a year-round basis.