University of Montana, Missoula

MFA Program

Program Established: 
Missoula, MT
Poetry, Fiction, Creative Nonfiction
2-3 Years
Incoming Class Size: 
Application Deadline: 
January 6, 2018
Application Fee: 
Contact E-mail: 
Contact Name: 
Karin Schalm
Core Faculty Includes: 

Poetry: Joanna Klink, Prageeta Sharma, Karen Volkman
Fiction: Kevin Canty, Debra Magpie Earling, Deirdre McNamer
Nonfiction: Judy Blunt, David Gates

The Distinguished Visiting Kittredge and Hugo Writers for 2018 are Pete Fromm and Sarah Vap.

Funding/Employment Opportunities: 

The program offers partial funding. The program offers opportunities for teaching assistantships, scholarships, fellowships, and other awards.

Affiliated Publications/Publishers: 
Other Features: 

The program offers the student-run reading series Second Wind; a biennial publishing conference; and the Merriam-Frontier Award, a chapbook contest.

GRE scores are no longer an application requirement.


Sandra Alcosser, Kim Barnes, Judy Blunt, Emily Danforth, Rick DeMarinis, William Finnegan, Michael Fitzgerald, David Gilbert, Andrew Sean Greer, Shannon Hale, Frances Hwang, Megan Kruse, Melissa Kwasny, Aryn Kyle, J. Robert Lennon, Abi Maxwell, Neil McMahon, Deirdre McNamer, Colin Meloy, Janisse Ray, Steven Rinella, Kim Todd, Amanda Eyre Ward, James Welch, Robert Wrigley