Texas State University

MFA Program

See writers who attended this program
Program Established: 
San Marcos, TX
Poetry, Fiction
3 Years
Incoming Class Size: 
Application Deadline: 
January 31, 2024
Application Fee: 
Contact E-mail: 
Core Faculty Includes: 

Poetry: Cyrus Cassells, Roger Jones, Naomi Shihab Nye, Cecily Parks, Kathleen Peirce, Steve Wilson
Fiction: Doug Dorst, Jennifer duBois, Tom Grimes, James Han Mattson, Kali Fajardjo-Anstine, Debra Monroe, and Tim O’Brien

Funding/Employment Opportunities: 

The program offers partial funding. Most students receive an assistantship or scholarship that includes a stipend and partial tuition waiver.

Affiliated Publications/Publishers: 
Other Features: 

The program hosts a visiting writers series, which includes readings and master classes with six to eight writers each year. The program also hosts professional development workshops and talks with respected writers, editors, agents, and publishers about the editing and publishing industry. Every Spring semester, the program hosts a poet-in-residence, who teaches master classes, holds craft workshops, and hosts unique events. After students complete their thesis, they receive notes and feedback from a requested member of the Adjunct Thesis Faculty, a group composed of acclaimed writers from around the world. 

January 31 is the deadline for fall admission applications and November 1 is the deadline for spring admission applications.