Spalding University

MFA Program

MFA Program Established: 
Louisville, KY
Poetry, Fiction, Creative Nonfiction
2 Years
Program Size: 
Application Deadline: 
February 1, 2017
Application Fee: 
Contact E-mail: 
Contact Name: 
Karen J. Mann
Core Faculty Includes: 

Poetry: Debra Kang Dean, Kathleen Driskell, Shane McCrae, Maureen Morehead, Greg Pape, Jeanie Thompson
Fiction: Julie Brickman, K. L. Cook, Leslie Daniels, Pete Duval, Kirby Gann, Rachel M. Harper, Roy Hoffman, Silas House, Fenton Johnson, Robin Lippincott, Jody Lisberger, Nancy McCabe, Eleanor Morse, Sena Jeter Naslund, Elaine Neil Orr, John Pipkin, Neela Vaswani, Crystal Wilkinson
Nonfiction: Dianne Aprile, Roy Hoffman, Fenton Johnson, Nancy McCabe, Elaine Neil Orr, Neela Vaswani, Rebecca Walker

Funding/Employment Opportunities: 

The program offers graduate assistantships, scholarships, and editorial and reading positions with The Louisville Review.

Affiliated Publications/Publishers: 

The Louisville Review, Fleur-de-Lis Press

Other Features: 

The program also offers concentrations in writing for children & young adults, screenwriting, and playwriting. The faculty for writing for children & young adults includes Susan Campbell Bartoletti, Beth A. Bauman, Edie Hemingway, and Lesléa Newman; the screenwriting faculty includes Larry Brenner, Helena Kriel, Sam Zalutsky; and the playwriting faculty includes Gabriel Jason Dean, Kira Obolensky, Eric Schmiedl, and Charlie Schulman.

Students can choose among residencies in May and November, which take place at the Spalding University campus in Louisville, Kentucky, or a residency in June or July, which takes place in a different international country each year. The 2017 summer residency will take place in Edinburgh.

The program hosts a reading series in May and November and a post-graduate conference, SpaldingCon, every November.

The application deadline is February 1 for the spring or summer residency and August 1 for the fall residency.


Larry Brynner, Kelly Creagh, Joey Goebel, Silas House, Erin Keane, Katrina Kittle, Christopher Klim, Michael Morris, Katerina Stoykova-Klemer, Stephanie Stuve-Bodeen, Tommy Trull, Frank X Walke