Sarah Lawrence College

MFA Program

Program Established: 
Bronxville, NY
Poetry, Fiction, Creative Nonfiction
2 Years
Incoming Class Size: 
Application Deadline: 
December 15, 2018
Application Fee: 
Contact E-mail: 
Contact Name: 
Amparo Rios
Core Faculty Includes: 

Poetry: Tina Chang, Suzanne Gardinier, Aracelis Girmay, Matthea Harvey, James Hoch, Marie Howe, Kate Knapp Johnson, Jeffrey McDaniel, Dennis Nurkse, Martha Rhodes
Fiction: Wesley Brown, Carolyn Ferrell, Garth Risk Hallberg, David Hollander, April Mosolino, Victoria Redel, Nelly Reifler, David Ryan, Joan Silber, Martha Southgate, Frederick Strype, Kate Zambreno
Nonfiction: Jo Ann Beard, Vinson Cunningham, Suzanne Hoover, Stephen O’Connor, Vijay Seshadri, Jacob Slichter, Alice Truax, Dan Zevin
Speculative Fiction: Paul LaFarge, Lincoln Michel, Nelly Reifler, David Ryan

Funding/Employment Opportunities: 

The program offers partial funding. The program offers scholarships, grants, internships, and Sarah Lawrence gift aid.

Affiliated Publications/Publishers: 
Other Features: 

The program also offers a track in speculative fiction.

The program features a literary colloquium series; mixed genre craft classes; biweekly one-on-one conferences with instructors; guest writer residencies; and regular student-faculty readings. Other features include the student-run Sarah Lawrence Poetry Festival, the Summer Seminar for Writers, and opportunities to teach in local schools, community organizations, colleges, and correctional facilities through the Community Teaching Program.

The priority application deadline is December 15. The program offers rolling admissions thereafter.