Rona Jaffe Foundation Celebrates Ten Years of Honoring Women Writers

by Staff

Six women writers recently received Rona Jaffe Foundation Writers' Awards. Poets Dana Levin, Tracy Smith, and Sharon Strange, fiction writers Carin Clevidence and Ann Harleman, and creative nonfiction writer Michele Morano each received $10,000. The writers were honored at a ceremony in New York City on September 30.

This year marks the tenth anniversary of the Writers' Awards program, which was created by Rona Jaffe, the author of sixteen books, including the novels The Road Taken, The Cousins, and Family Secrets, to address "the particular difficulties that many women writers have in finding time to write." It is the only national literary awards program devoted exclusively to women. There is no application process.

Past recipients of Rona Jaffe Foundation Writers' Awards include Samina Ali, Tory Dent, and ZZ Packer.