Original Voices Award Goes to Nicole Krauss



Nicole Krauss, the author of The History of Love (W. W. Norton, 2005), was recently named the winner of the 2005 Borders Original Voices Award in fiction. The $5,000 prize, sponsored by Borders Group, Inc., is given annually for an “innovative and ambitious work from a new and emerging talent, or a title that represents a new direction for an established author.”

The other finalists were Ronlyn Domingue for The Mercy of Thin Air (Atria, 2005); Ryan Gattis for Kung Fu High School (Harvest Books, 2005); Davy Rothbart for The Lone Surfer of Montana, Kansas: Stories (Touchstone, 2005); Marina Lewycka for A Short History of Tractors in Ukrainian (Penguin, 2005); and Ron McLarty for The Memory of Running (Viking, 2004).