Naropa University, Jack Kerouac School of Disembodied Poetics

MFA Program

See writers who attended this program
Program Established: 
Boulder, CO
Not Genre-Specific
2 Years
Incoming Class Size: 
Application Deadline: 
February 1, 2022
Application Fee: 
Contact E-mail: 
Contact Name: 
Jeffrey Pethybridge
Core Faculty Includes: 

Jeffrey Pethybridge, Michelle Naka Pierce, Andrew Schelling, Sara Veglahn, Anne Waldman

Guest Faculty Includes: Anne Boyer, Cecilia Vicuña, Lisa Robertson, Tracie Morris, Eleni Sikelianos, CAConrad, Tongo-Eisen Martin, Selah Saterstrom, Hoa Nguyen, Dawn Lundy Martin, Eileen Myles, Fred Moten, Layli Long Soldier, Thurston Moore, Margaret Randall, Simone White, Laird Hunt, Renee Gladman, TC Tolbert, Jos Charles

Funding/Employment Opportunities: 

The program offers partial funding. The program offers three full funding awards (the Anne Waldman, Allen Ginsberg, and Anselm Hollo Graduate Fellowships which cover full tuition plus stipend and scholarship); additionally the program offers numerous partial-funding awards in the form of scholarships and teaching/graduate assistantships.

Affiliated Publications/Publishers: 
Other Features: 

The program hosts the Summer Writing Program, which brings in more than fifty guests each year and offers students the opportunity to be in dialogue with a community of writers and artists. The program includes workshops, lectures, panels, readings, special events, and more.

The Kerouac School hosts several readings and events, including the 4x4 student reading series, the What Where Series, the JKS Symposium, the Scalapino Lecture in Innovative Poetics, the Ginsberg Visiting Fellow, the [Dis]embodied Poetics Conference, and Embodied Poetics: a collaboration with the MFA Theater department.

The program also offers contemplative opportunities in meditation, yoga, ikebana, or Contemplative Poetics. Other features include a seminar in pedagogy, letterpress printing, and community teaching through Project Outreach.

The program’s deadline for priority applications—meaning guaranteed consideration for the full fellowships—is Feburary 3. After that, general applications are accepted on a rolling admissions and students are still eligible for the many forms of partial funding.


Erik Anderson, Will Christopher Baer, Brenda Coultas, kari edwards, Laird Hunt, Rachel Levitsky, Sean Murphy, Eleni Sikelianos, Danielle Vogel