McCarthy and Safran Foer Among 2007 IMPAC Finalists


Eight authors, including two Americans, were shortlisted last week for the annual International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award, a prize established twelve years ago to highlight the literary prominence of the Irish capital. This year's award, worth 100,000 Euros (approximately $133,800), will be given for a book published in 2005. The shortlisted authors are:

Julian Barnes for Arthur and George (Jonathan Cape)
Sebastian Barry for A Long Way Home (Viking)
J. M. Coetzee for Slow Man (Viking)
Jonathan Safran Foer for Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close (Houghton Mifflin)
Peter Hobbs for The Short Day Dying (Faber and Faber)
Cormac McCarthy for No Country for Old Men (Knopf)
Per Peterrson for Out Stealing Horses (Harvill Secker), translated by Anne Born
Salman Rushdie for Shalimar the Clown (Random House)

The judges are Hanan Al-Shaykh, Carmen Callil, Gerald Dawe, Almeida Faria, Lilian Faschinger, and Eugene Sullivan. The winner will be announced on June 14.

Last year's winner was Irish novelist Colm Tóibín for The Master (Picador, 2004).