Lesley University

MFA Program

See writers who attended this program
Program Established: 
Cambridge, MA
Poetry, Fiction, Creative Nonfiction
2 Years
Incoming Class Size: 
Application Deadline: 
November 15, 2021
Application Fee: 
Contact E-mail: 
Core Faculty Includes: 

Poetry: Erin Belieu, Sharon Bryan, Steven Cramer, Danielle Legros Georges, Joan Houlihan, Kevin Prufer
Fiction: Tony Eprile, Laurie Foos, Rachel Kadish, Hester Kaplan, Michael Lowenthal, A. J. Verdelle
Nonfiction: Jane Brox, Rachel Manley, Kyoko Mori, Pamela Petro, Janet Pocorobba
Stage and Screen: Jami Brandli, Barry Brodsky, Kate Snodgrass, Sinan Unel
Young People Writing: Tracey Baptiste, David Elliott, Susan Goodman, Michelle Knudsen, Chris Lynch, Jason Reynolds

Funding/Employment Opportunities: 

The program offers up to $400,000 in scholarships per admission period.

Other Features: 

Students attend two nine-day residencies each year, in January and June, at the Lesley University campus in Cambridge, Massachusetts.  The June 2020 residency was held virtually because of the Covid pandemic. It is possible that the January 2021 residency will also be held virtually, allowing students to study in this challenging time. While we have rolling admissions, for students who want to be considered for funding, the application deadline is November 15 for the January residency and March 15 for the June residency.

The program offers degrees with the following areas of specialization: poetry, fiction, nonfiction, stage and screen, graphic novel and comics, and writing for young people.

Through the program’s unique interdisciplinary component, students can gain professional experience in one of four tracks: pedagogy, publishing, social justice, and cross-genre writing. Alternatively, students can individualize their interdisciplinary work by creating specialized studies of their own, such as enrolling in travel study courses, including Lesley’s Wales Study Abroad Program at the Dylan Thomas Summer School.

Students also take advantage of program partnerships including with the Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival, Aevitas Creative Management, and editors and publishers. 


Leland Cheuk, Katie Cotugno, Mark Edwards, Sara Farizan, Beth Glass, Michael Graves, Lisa Kenner Grissom, Patricia Lynn Gutman, Lisa Gruenberg, Melanie Henderson, Cindy House, Lyz Lenz, Sara Levine, Jasmine Lina, Richard Manieri, Celeste Mohammed, Axie Oh, Kathy Park, Rahima Rice, Lisa Robinson, Claudia Rueda, Julie Wittes Schlack, Cassie M. Seinuk, Tracy Strauss, Enzo Silon Surin, Jasmine Varga, Andrea Wang, July Westhale, Amber Wong, Amy Yelin, Elizabeth Young