Knopf VP Fisketjon Wins Maxwell E. Perkins Award

by Staff

Noreen Tomassi, the executive director of the Mercantile Library Center for Fiction, announced on August 23 that Gary Fisketjon, the vice president and editor-at-large of Alfred A. Knopf, is the winner of the second annual Maxwell E. Perkins Award for his work as an editor at Random House, Vintage, Atlantic Monthly Press, and Knopf.

During the past twenty-five years, Fisketjon has worked with authors such as Raymond Carver, Andre Dubus, Bret Easton Ellis, Richard Ford, Patricia Highsmith, Cormac McCarthy, Richard Russo, and Tobias Wolff.

The award is given for "excellence in the field of fiction." Nan Talese won the first Maxwell E. Perkins Award last year.