Hamline University

MFA Program

See writers who attended this program
Program Established: 
St. Paul, MN
Poetry, Fiction, Creative Nonfiction
3 Years
Incoming Class Size: 
Application Deadline: 
July 1, 2023
Application Fee: 
Contact E-mail: 
Contact Name: 
Terry Horstman
Core Faculty Includes: 

Fiction: John Brandon
Nonfiction: Angela Pelster-Wiebe
Screenwriting and Multi-Genre: Richard Pelster-Wiebe

Funding/Employment Opportunities: 

The program offers partial funding. The program offers a quarter-tuition merit scholarship to the top 10 percent of incoming students.

The Deborah Keenan Poetry Scholarship is offered annually to multiple poets who show considerable promise. The Judi Shaw Memorial Scholarship is offered bi-annually to an incoming MFA student who shows considerable promise. The Richard P. Bailey endowed scholarship is also offered annually. Students can apply for graduate assistantships working with Water~Stone Review, Hamline’s national literary annual, and graduate teaching assistantships working with undergraduate creative writing students.

Affiliated Publications/Publishers: 
Other Features: 

The program offers part- and full-time options; students are expected to complete their degree in three to five years. Students are not required to specialize in one genre. Students also have the opportunity to serve on the editorial board of three different literary journals.

The program also hosts the Hamline Summer Writing Workshop, for which applications are open to the public.

The application deadline is July 1 for the fall semester. For the spring semester, the application deadline is January 1

The MFA program is on Twitter: @HamlineCWP.


Rosemary Ann Davis, Brian Farrey, Bethany Frenette, Geoff Herbach, Mindy Mejia, Will McGrath, David Oppegaard, Kelsey Sutton, Maya Washington