Four Emerging Poets Make Annual "Discovery"

by Staff

Four poets were recently named winners of the 32nd annual "Discovery"/the Nation Poetry Prizes.

Nicky Beer of Columbia, Missouri; Eric Leigh of San Francisco; Shara Lessley of Hamilton, New York; and Sand Tseng of Pittsburgh each received $500, publication in the Nation, and an all-expenses-paid trip to read at the 92nd Street Y in New York City.

James Richardson, Laurie Sheck, and Elizabeth Spires judged. The prizes, sponsored by the 92nd Street Y Unterberg Poetry Center and the Nation, are given to poets who have not yet published a book of poems. Previous winners include Mary Jo Bang, Nick Flynn, Debora Greger, Katha Pollitt, Mary Jo Salter, Sherod Santos, Arthur Smith, Gary Soto, David St. John, Yerra Sugarman, Ellen Bryant Voigt, and Rosanna Warren.