Five Fiction Writers for Original Voices Award


Borders, Inc. recently announced the nominees for the 2005 Original Voices Award in fiction. The $5,000 prize is given annually for an “innovative and ambitious work from a new and emerging talent, or a title that represents a new direction for an established author.”

The finalists were selected from over 200 books featured in Original Voices, a program in which employees from the more than 470 Borders Books & Music stores throughout the U.S. and employees from the company’s headquarters in Ann Arbor, Michigan, select titles to receive prominent store placement, an appearance in the monthly shopping guide, and a 20-percent discount during their selection month.

The nominees are Ronlyn Domingue for The Mercy of Thin Air by (Atria, 2005); Ryan Gattis for Kung Fu High School (Harvest Books, 2005); Nicole Krauss for The History of Love (W. W. Norton, 2005); Davy Rothbart for The Lone Surfer of Montana, Kansas: Stories (Touchstone, 2005); Marina Lewycka for A Short History of Tractors in Ukrainian (Penguin, 2005); and Ron McLarty for The Memory of Running (Viking, 2004).

The winner will be announced on January 19, 2006.