E. L. Doctorow Wins PEN/Faulkner

by Staff

E. L. Doctorow won the 2006 PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction for his novel The March (Random House). He received $15,000. The judges for the award, given to honor the most distinguished work of fiction by a U.S. writer published during the previous year, were George Garrett, Ana Menendez, and Melissa Pritchard.

The four nominees were Karen Fisher for A Sudden Country (Random House), William Henry Lewis for I Got Somebody in Staunton (Amistad), James Salter for Last Night (Knopf), and Bruce Wagner for The Chrysanthemum Palace (Simon & Schuster). They each received $5,000.

Doctorow, who also won the award in 1990 for Billy Bathgate (Random House, 1989), received the 1986 National Book Award for World’s Fair (Random House, 1985); two National Book Critics Circle Awards for fiction, in 1989 for Billy Bathgate and in 1975 for Ragtime (Random House, 1975); and the 1998 National Humanities Medal.