| Give a Gift |

  • Digital Edition

Columbia University School of the Arts

MFA Program

MFA Program Established: 
New York, New York
Genres Include:
Poetry, Fiction, and Creative Nonfiction
2-3 Years
Program Size: 
Application Deadline:
January 5, 2017
Application Fee: 
Contact E-mail: 
Contact Name: 
William Wadsworth
Core Faculty Includes: 

Poetry: Lucie Brock-Broido, Timothy Donnelly, Dorothea Lasky
Fiction: Paul Beatty, Nicholas Christopher, Deborah Eisenberg, Richard Ford, Heidi Julavits, Binnie Kirshenbaum, Victor LaValle, Sam Lipsyte, Ben Marcus, Ben Metcalf, Orhan Pamuk, Elissa Schappell, Gary Shteyngart, Alan Ziegler
Nonfiction: Hilton Als, Lis Harris, Leslie Jamison, Margo Jefferson, Richard Locke, Phillip Lopate
Translation: Susan Bernofsky

Funding/Employment Opportunities: 

The program offers teaching fellowships, research assistantships, scholarships, and internships.

Affiliated Publications/Publishers: 
Other Features: 

The program hosts the Creative Writing Lectures; the Word for Word Literary Translation Exchange; Life After the MFA panels; an annual agents mixer; the student reading series, Gallery Reading Series; and the alumni reading series, Columbia Selects MFA Reading Series.

The program also offers a joint course of study in literary translation.


Elisa Albert, Mia Alvar, Jonathan Ames, Mary Jo Bang, Lucie Brock-Broido, Gabrielle Calvocoressi, Tina Chang, Emma Cline, Henri Cole, Meghan Daum, Kiran Desai, Timothy Donnelly, Stephen Dubner, Peter Farrelly, Rivka Galchen, Matt Gallagher, Philip Gourevitch, Eliza Griswold, Marie Howe, Mat Johnson, Heidi Julavits, Owen King, Alexandra Kleeman, Victor LaValle, Stephen McCauley, Dinaw Mengestu, Susan Minot, Rick Moody, Gregory Pardlo, Julie Otsuka, Richard Price, Claudia Rankine, Karen Russell, Vijay Seshadri, Brenda Shaughnessy, Mona Simpson, Tracy K. Smith, Wells Tower, Adam Wilson, Mark Wunderlich

Back to MFA Programs Database Listings

Speakeasy Threads

Subscribe to P&W Magazine | Donate Now | Advertise | Sign up for E-Newsletter | Help | About Us | Contact Us | View Mobile Site

© Copyright Poets & Writers 2016. All Rights Reserved