Boise State University

MFA Program

See writers who attended this program
Program Established: 
Boise, ID
Poetry, Fiction
3 Years
Incoming Class Size: 
Application Deadline: 
January 15, 2024
Application Fee: 
Contact E-mail: 
Contact Name: 
Mitch Wieland
Core Faculty Includes: 

Poetry: Martin Corless-Smith, Sara Nicholson, Taryn Schwilling
Fiction: Mitch Wieland (Director), Anna Caritj
Creative Nonfiction: Clyde Moneyhun

Funding/Employment Opportunities: 

The program offers full funding. All students receive a teaching or graduate assistantship position with full tuition waiver, health benefits, and a stipend of $11,450 for each of the three years. All teaching assistantships are in creative writing. Graduate assistantships include opportunities to work with the program’s affiliated small presses.

Affiliated Publications/Publishers: 
Other Features: 

This program features a semester-long Visiting Distinguished Writers Series; recent visiting writers include Bhanu Kapil, Joy Williams, Pierre Joris, Denis Johnson, Anthony Doerr, and Forrest Gander. The MFA Reading Series brings renowned authors to campus throughout the school year. Courses are available in form and theory, translation, playwriting, screenwriting, as well as editing, design, and publishing.

Along with the core faculty, students have access to Thesis Faculty that have included Joy Williams, Rick Bass, Bhanu Kapil, Anthony Doerr, and Rebecca Wolff.


Scot Abels, Erin Belair, Ariel Delgado Dixon, Katie Fuller, Tim Griffith, Cynthia Hand, Al Heathcock, Meghan Kenny, Adrian Kien, Mary Pauline Lowry, Tyler McMahon, Jackie Polzin, JR Walsh, Karena Youtz