Antioch University

MFA Program

See writers who attended this program
Program Established: 
Los Angeles, CA
Poetry, Fiction, Creative Nonfiction, Cross-Genre
2 Years
Incoming Class Size: 
20 per cohort (2 cohorts per year)
Application Deadline: 
Rolling Admissions
Application Fee: 
Contact E-mail: 
Contact Name: 
Victoria Chang
Core Faculty Includes: 

Poetry: Victoria Chang
Prose: Lisa Locascio

Funding/Employment Opportunities: 

The program offers scholarships, grants, federal financial aid, and federal work-study positions.

Affiliated Publications/Publishers: 

Lunch Ticketa student-run online literary journal

Other Features: 

Students attend two 10-day residencies each year, in June and December, in Los Angeles. The program offers a social justice focus and requires all students to conduct a community-focused field study.

Genres include poetry, fiction, creative nonfiction, and writing for young people. Students also have the opportunity to take online electives in screenwriting, poetry craft, prose craft, among other offerings.

Faculty may include: Gayle Brandeis, Alistair McCartney, Jaswinder Bolina, Angela Morales, Jim Daniels, Naima Coster, Natashia Déon, Carol Potter, Ana Maria Spagna, Blas Falconer, Sarah Manguso, Chris Feliciano Arnold, Dan Bellm, Francesca Lia Block, Tananarive Due, Brad Kessler, Vandana Khanna, Genevieve Hudson, Sarah Van Arsdale, Sharman Apt Russell, and more.

The program begins reviewing applications on a rolling basis in January for the Summer/Fall semester and July for the Winter/Spring Semester. Applications are accepted and reviewed until all spots are filled.


Ashaki Jackson, Wendy C. Ortiz, Khadijah Queen, Daniel José Older, Jessica Abughattas, F. Douglas Brown, Xochitl-Julisa Bermejo, Christina Lynch, Andromeda Romano-Lax, José Hernández Diaz, Naomi Benaron, Aimee Liu Kellor, Elizabeth Earley, Shonda Buchanan, Christina Lynch, Kate Maruyama, Toni Ann Johnson, Joe Jiménez, Jillian Lauren, Antonia Crane, Patrick O'Neil, Joe Jiménez, Susan Southard, Gayle Brandeis, Alistair McCartney, John Guthrie, Susan Southard, Mifanwy Kaiser, Andrea Quaid, Joan Dempsey, and others.