Ann Patchett Wins PEN/Faulkner

by Staff

Ann Patchett won the 2002 PEN/Faulkner Award, the country's largest peer-juried fiction prize, for her novel Bel Canto (HarperCollins). She received $15,000.

Each of the four finalists—Jonathan Franzen for The Corrections (Farrar, Straus and Giroux); Karen Jay Fowler for Sister Noon (Marion Wood/G.P. Putnam's Sons); Claire Messud for The Hunters (Harcourt); and Manil Suri for The Death of Vishnu (Norton)—received $5,000.

All five authors will be honored during the 22nd annual PEN/Faulkner Award ceremony at the Folger Shakespeare Library on May 11.