And Then There Were Six: Booker Shortlist Announced

by Staff

Winnowed from a group of 23 semi-finalists, six authors were recently shortlisted for the 2003 Man Booker Prize. The annual prize is given for the best novel published in the current year and is open to writers from the United Kingdom, Ireland, and the British Commonwealth. Each shortlisted writer will receive £2,500 (approximately $4,000). The winner, to be announced in October, receives £50,000 (approximately $80,000).

The Man Booker Prize Shortlist:
Monica Ali, Brick Lane (Doubleday)
Margaret Atwood, Oryx and Crake (Bloomsbury)
Damon Galgut, The Good Doctor (Atlantic Books)
Zoë Heller, Notes on a Scandal (Viking Penguin)
Clare Morrall, Astonishing Splashes of Colour (Tindal Street Press)
DBC Pierre, Vernon God Little (Faber & Faber)