AAP Honors "The View"

by Staff

At a ceremony last Tuesday during its annual meeting, the Association of American Publishers (AAP) presented the ABC daytime television show The View with its AAP Honors award. The show—hosted by Joy Behar, Elisabeth Hasselbeck, Rosie O’Donnell, and Barbara Walters—will donate the award’s five thousand dollar prize to the literacy organization First Book, which provides books to children from low-income families.

The AAP, the national trade association of the U.S. book publishing industry, started the Honors program in 1997 to "acknowledge the contributions of individuals and organizations outside the book industry who have helped focus public attention on American books and their importance in our society." Past winners include C-SPAN television host Brian Lamb, Dolly Parton, and Oprah Winfrey.