$25,000 Bellwether Prize Goes to Hillary Jordan

by Staff

Best-selling author Barbara Kingsolver recently announced that Hillary Jordan won the 2006 Bellwether Prize for Fiction for her unpublished novel “Mudbound.” Jordan received $25,000, and her novel will be published by Scribner. The judges were Arthur Blaustein, Frances Goldin, and Kingsolver.

Created and funded by Kingsolver and administered by the National Writers’ United Service Organization, the award is given biennially for an unpublished novel that “addresses issues of social responsibility and the impact of culture and politics on human relationships.”

Past winners include Donna Gershten for Kissing the Virgin’s Mouth (HarperCollins, 2001), Gayle Brandeis for The Book of Dead Birds (HarperCollins, 2003), and Marjorie Kowalski Cole for Correcting the Landscape (HarperCollins, 2005).