| Give a Gift |

  • Digital Edition

University of Iowa Writers’ Workshop

MFA Program

The Dey House at the University of Iowa Writers' Workshop

MFA Program Established: 
Iowa City, Iowa
Genres Include:
Poetry and Fiction
2 Years
Program Size: 
Application Deadline:
January 3, 2015
Application Fee: 
Contact E-mail: 
Contact Name: 
Deb West
Core Faculty Includes: 

Poets: James Galvin and Mark Levine. Fiction writers: Ethan Canin, Lan Samantha Chang, Charles D'Ambrosio, and Marilyn Robinson.

Funding/Employment Opportunities: 

Teaching Assistantships, Research Assistantships, Fellowships

Affiliated Publications/Publishers: 

Iowa Review, University of Iowa Press

Other Features: 

This program features numerous visiting writers.

Students may also participate in the following programs affiliated with the University of Iowa: the Center for the Book, which offers classes in book-making, print-making, paper-making, and other book-related topics; study abroad in Ireland; and courses in playwriting and nonfiction writing. Students may also get involved in arts outreach with the Patient Voice  Project, the Iowa Youth Writing Project, or the Arts Share program with Iowa schools and communities.

This program also offers an MFA in literary translation.


Raymond Carver, John Irving, Flannery O’Connor, Rita Dove, Joy Williams, William Stegner, Philip Levine, Sandra Cisneros, Nathan Englander, Yiyun Li, ZZ Packer, Chris Adrian, Ayana Mathis, Justin Cronin, Justin Torres, Donald Justice and Jorie Graham

Back to MFA Programs Database Listings

Speakeasy Threads

Subscribe to P&W Magazine | Donate Now | Advertise | Sign up for E-Newsletter | Help | About Us | Contact Us | View Mobile Site

© Copyright Poets & Writers 2015. All Rights Reserved