| Give a Gift |

  • Digital Edition

University of Iowa Writers’ Workshop

MFA Program

The Dey House at the University of Iowa Writers' Workshop

MFA Program Established: 
Iowa City, Iowa
Genres Include:
Poetry and Fiction
2 Years
Program Size: 
Application Deadline:
December 15, 2016
Application Fee: 
Contact E-mail: 
Contact Name: 
Deb West
Core Faculty Includes: 

Poetry: James Galvin, Mark Levine, Elizabeth Willis
Fiction: Ethan Canin, Lan Samantha Chang, Charles D'Ambrosio, Margot Livesey, Ayana Mathis, Marilynne Robinson

The 2015–2016 visiting faculty includes poet Emily Wilson, and fiction writers Paul Harding, Adam Levin, and Rebecca Makkai.

Funding/Employment Opportunities: 

The program fully funds all students through teaching and research assistantships, as well as fellowships.

Affiliated Publications/Publishers: 

Iowa Review, University of Iowa Press

Other Features: 

The program hosts readings, master classes, lectures, question and answer sessions, and short courses with visiting writers, agents, and editors. Other features include a community outreach program, the University of Iowa Center for the Book, and the Translation Workshop.


Raymond Carver, John Irving, Flannery O’Connor, Rita Dove, Joy Williams, Wallace Stegner, Philip Levine, Sandra Cisneros, Nathan Englander, Yiyun Li, ZZ Packer, Chris Adrian, Ayana Mathis, Justin Cronin, Justin Torres, Donald Justice and Jorie Graham

Back to MFA Programs Database Listings

Speakeasy Threads

Subscribe to P&W Magazine | Donate Now | Advertise | Sign up for E-Newsletter | Help | About Us | Contact Us | View Mobile Site

© Copyright Poets & Writers 2016. All Rights Reserved