| Give a Gift |

  • Digital Edition

Phillip Sterling

Author's Bio

Phillip Sterling is the author of In Which Brief Stories Are Told (short fiction, Wayne State U Press 2011), and five collections of poetry: And for All This: Poems from Isle Royale (Ridgeway Press 2015), Abeyance (Frank Cat Press Chapbook Award 2007), Quatrains (Pudding House 2006), Significant Others (Main Street Rag 2005), and Mutual Shores (New Issues 2000). He is the editor of Imported Breads: Literature of Cultural Exchange (Mammoth 2003) and served as the founding coordinator of the Literature In Person (LIP) Reading Series at Ferris State University, until his retirement in 2013.

Publications and Prizes

In Which Brief Stories Are Told (Wayne State University Press, 2011), Mutual Shores (New Issues Press, 2000)
Amethyst and Agate: Poems of Lake Superior (Holy Cow! Press, 2015), Poetry in Michigan/Michigan in Poetry (New Issues Press, 2013), Our Working Lives (Bottom Dog Press, 2000)
Midway Journal, Paris Review, Poet Lore, Soundings Review
2015 Monstrosities of the Midway Contest; Artist-in-Residence Isle Royale National Park (August 2014);Frank Cat Chapbook Award 2007;Senior Fulbright Lecturer to Poland (1997-98); Walt Whitman Award Finalist (Academy of American Poets, 1995); Senior Fulbright Lecturer in Belgium (1992-93); Michigan Association of Governing Boards Distinguished Faculty Award (1992); Robert H. Winner Memorial Award Runner-up (Poetry Society of America 1992); PEN Syndicated Fiction Award (1991);National Endowment for the Arts Creative Writing Fellowship in Poetry (1990);Emerging Writer Award (Bay De Noc Writers' Conference 1989);Finalist in 1987 & 1993 National Poetry Series; First Place in Poet Hunt Competition (1989, 1991)

Please note: All information in the Directory is provided by the listed writers or their representatives.
Listing last updated: March 29, 2016

More Information

Listed as:
Fiction Writer, Poet
Gives readings?
Travels for readings?
Prefers to work with:
Fluent in:
Born in:
Pontiac, MI
Raised in:
Traverse City, MI

Subscribe to P&W Magazine | Donate Now | Advertise | Sign up for E-Newsletter | Help | About Us | Contact Us | View Mobile Site

© Copyright Poets & Writers 2016. All Rights Reserved