| Give a Gift |

  • Digital Edition

University of Arkansas

MFA Program

Sunrise in the Ozark Mountains, near Fayetteville.  

MFA Program Established: 
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Genres Include:
Poetry and Fiction
4 Years
Program Size: 
Application Deadline:
January 3, 2015
Application Fee: 
Contact E-mail: 
Contact Name: 
Davis McCombs
Core Faculty Includes: 

Poets: Geoffrey Brock, Geffrey Davis, Michael Heffernan, and Davis McCombs. Fiction writers: Ellen Gilchrist, Toni Jensen, and Padma Viswanathan.

Funding/Employment Opportunities: 

Teaching Assistantships, Arkansas Doctoral Fellowships, Walton Fellowships, Lily Peter Fellowships

Other Features: 

This program offers students the opportunity to workshop with a visiting writer in their genre every semester. The program also has a partnership with National University of Ireland, Galway, which offers students the opportunity to study abroad in the International Writers' Course in Creative Writing.

In addition to regular workshops, this program offers students the opportunity to conference with a visiting writer in their genre every semester. Students may also participate in the Writers in the Schools program (WITS), which sends teams of graduate students into the Arkansas public schools to conduct two-day workshops. Prestigious awards such as the Walton Fellowships, which fund students to take a year off from teaching to focus on their writing, are awarded on a competitive basis after the first year.


John Dufresne, Beth Ann Fennelly, Tom Franklin, Barry Hannah, Miroslav Penkov, Susan Perabo, Dale Ray Phillips, Nic Pizzolatto, Leon Stokesbury, Tony Tost, C.D. Wright, Steve Yarbrough, Paul Zimmer

Back to MFA Programs Database Listings

Speakeasy Threads

Subscribe to P&W Magazine | Donate Now | Advertise | Sign up for E-Newsletter | Help | About Us | Contact Us | View Mobile Site

© Copyright Poets & Writers 2015. All Rights Reserved