| Give a Gift |

  • Digital Edition

The Iowa Review

Issues per Year: 
Issue Price: 
$20 - 1 year
1,000 to 2,500
Genres Published: 
Poetry, Fiction, Creative Nonfiction
Representative Authors: 

Pattiann Rogers, Marianne Boruch, Donald Hall, Joyelle McSweeney, Rebecca Makkai, John Ashbery, Lia Purpura, Robert Coover

E-publication, Print
Reading Period: 
Sep 1 - Dec 1
Reporting Time: 
3 to 6 months
Charges Reading Fee: 
Accepts Electronic Submissions: 
Accepts Simultaneous Submissions: 
Accepts Unsolicited Submissions: 

Editorial Focus

We select most of our content from the several thousand unsolicited manuscripts that arrive each year from throughout the country and abroad. We take our mission to be nudging along American literature, to be local but not provincial, to be experimental but not without love for our literary traditions. Although you may find writers already familiar to you in most of our issues, you will surely find others who are not. Discovering a new and compelling writer, one we'd never heard of before but whose writing comes through to us--that still seems the magic of our work.

Contact Information

Lynne Nugent, Managing Editor
308 EPB
Iowa City, IA 52242

Please note: The information provided in this database is provided by the magazines listed in it.
Last updated: September 1, 2016

Back to Literary Magazines Listings

Literary Magazines Contact Form
The Iowa Review

We do our best to keep all information as up-to-date as possible, but sometimes we need your help. Please report any outdated information in the text box below. Don't forget to click Submit. Thank you!

Thank you for helping us keep our website as up-to-date as possible, and for being part of the Poets & Writers community. We appreciate it!

Browse by Magazine Title

# | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Subscribe to P&W Magazine | Donate Now | Advertise | Sign up for E-Newsletter | Help | About Us | Contact Us | View Mobile Site

© Copyright Poets & Writers 2016. All Rights Reserved