| Give a Gift |

  • Digital Edition

Paul Auster Wins Spain's Prince of Asturias Award

Daily News

Online Only, posted 6.19.06

Novelist Paul Auster recently won Spain’s Prince of Asturias Award for Letters. He received 50,000 euros (approximately $62,850). The award, established in 1980 and named after the Asturias principality in northern Spain, is part of a series of prizes given annually for accomplishments in the arts, science, communications, public service, and sports.

Auster is the author of more than two dozen books of poetry, fiction, and essays, including the novels City of Glass (Sun and Moon Press, 1985), Locked Room (Sun and Moon Press, 1986), and Ghosts (Penguin, 1986), which together form the The New York Trilogy (Penguin, 1990). His most recent novel is The Brooklyn Follies (Henry Holt, 2006).

Subscribe to P&W Magazine | Donate Now | Advertise | Sign up for E-Newsletter | Help | About Us | Contact Us | View Mobile Site

© Copyright Poets & Writers 2015. All Rights Reserved