»

| Give a Gift |

  • Digital Edition

Meg Wolitzer on Literature's Gender Disparity, Ann Patchett Named Most Influential, and More

Daily News

Online Only, posted 4.02.12

Every day Poets & Writers Magazine scans the headlines—from publishing reports to academic announcements to literary dispatches—for all the news that creative writers need to know. Here are today's stories:

Novelist Meg Wolitzer asks, "If The Marriage Plot, by Jeffrey Eugenides, had been written by a woman yet still had the same title and wedding ring on its cover, would it have received a great deal of serious literary attention?" (New York Times)

And in answer to Wolitzer's essay, Flavorwire compares book covers of literary novels from both genders.

Jezebel weighs in on gender disparity in literature in light of the recently posted MLA rankings of writers, and offers: "The literary canon is still one big sausage fest."

Meanwhile, Time has named novelist Ann Patchett one of its two hundred most influential people in the world. (Guardian)

Letters of Note found a powerful message written by Kurt Vonnegut to the book-burning head of a North Dakota school board in 1973: "Perhaps you will learn from this that books are sacred to free men for very good reasons, and that wars have been fought against nations which hate books and burn them."

Some libraries in Nova Scotia are boycotting Random House in response to e-book pricing. (Digital Book World)

The Wall Street Journal explores the fascination many writers have held for Eastern philosophy, including J. D. Salinger's devotion to Swami Nikhilananda, the founder of the Ramakrishna-Vivekananda Center in New York City.

Fans of Sleater-Kinney and Portlandia rejoice—the New York Times reports Carrie Brownstein will write a memoir to be published by Riverhead Books. (Rolling Stone)

April is National Poetry Month, and the USPS has twentieth-century poets stamps.

Reader Comments

City Guide

by Jen Michalski

Author Jen Michalski takes us on a tour of the many literary sites writers should visit while strolling the gritty streets of Baltimore.

Upcoming Events
Poetry
Reading/Panel/Performance
New Jersey Performing Arts Center
October 23, 2014 - 9:00am
Fiction
Reading
Taylor Books Cafe
October 23, 2014 - 5:30pm
Poetry
Reading/Workshop/Panel
Poet's House
October 23, 2014 - 6:00pm
Fiction
Reading/Talk
Barnes & Noble DePaul Center
October 23, 2014 - 6:00pm
Creative Nonfiction
Reading
Alpine Branch Library
October 23, 2014 - 6:00pm
Conferences & Residencies
Residency
West Cork, Ireland
Residency
Riga, Latvia
Conference
Charlotte, North Carolina
Writing Contests
Provincetown OuterMost Community Radio
University of Evansville
American Library Association
Magazine Articles

by Mira Ptacin

November/December 2014

Despite struggles, libraries are learning to navigate the ever-changing, and often cost-prohibitive, landscape of digital lending.

 

by Staff

Politics & Prose replaces Barnes & Noble as official National Book Festival bookseller; new Berryman volume and reissues released; Carlos Lozada named nonfiction book critic at the Washington Post; and other news.

Directory of Writers

Subscribe to P&W Magazine | Donate Now | Advertise | Sign up for E-Newsletter | Help | About Us | Contact Us | View Mobile Site

© Copyright Poets & Writers 2014. All Rights Reserved