University of Tampa

See writers who attended this program

MFA Program

Program Established: 
Tampa, FL
Poetry, Fiction, Creative Nonfiction
2 Years
Incoming Class Size: 
25-30 each year
Application Deadline: 
Rolling Admissions
Application Fee: 
Contact E-mail: 
Contact Name: 
Lynne Bartis
Core Faculty Includes: 

Poetry: Sandra Beasley, Erica Dawson, Donald Morrill, Alan Michael Parker
Fiction: Jessica Anthony, Brock Clarke, Kevin Moffett, Jason Ockert, Jeff Parker, Corinna Vallianatos
Nonfiction: Sandra Beasley, John Capouya, Donald Morrill

Funding/Employment Opportunities: 

The program offers some merit-based scholarships to incoming students.

Affiliated Publications/Publishers: 
Other Features: 

Students attend two ten-day residencies each year, in January and June, at the University of Tampa campus in downtown Tampa, Florida.

During each residency, the program hosts the Lectores Reading Series, which has featured writers such as Terrance Hayes, Denis Johnson, Miranda July, George Saunders, and Patricia Smith.