Hamline University

MFA Program

MFA Program Established: 
St. Paul, MN
Poetry, Fiction, Creative Nonfiction
2 Years
Program Size: 
Application Deadline: 
October 1, 2016
Application Fee: 
Contact E-mail: 
Contact Name: 
Ruthie Nelson
Core Faculty Includes: 

Swati Avasthi, Coe Booth, Marsha Wilson Chall, Emily Jenkins (e. lockhart), Ron Koertge, Mary Logue, Jacqueline Briggs Martin, Claire Rudolf Murphy, Matt de la Pena, Marsha Qualey, Phyllis Root, Laura Ruby, Gary Schmidt, Sherri Smith, Anne Ursu, Gene Luen Yang

Funding/Employment Opportunities: 

The program offers many scholarships, including the Herman W. Block Memorial Scholarship ($5,000), the T.A. Barron Annual Scholarship for Fantasy Writing ($5,000), the Walden Pond Press Scholarship ($2,500), the Anne Stickney Schmidt Scholarship ($1,000), the Anne Tews Schwab Award for Excellence in Critical Writing ($1,000), the Vaunda Micheaux Nelson Scholarship for Writers of Color ($5,000), the Frances and Kermit Rudolf Nonfiction Scholarship ($1,000), and merit scholarships ranging from $500 to $1,000.

Affiliated Publications/Publishers: 
Other Features: 

Two 11-day residencies are required each year. The program focuses on writing for children & young adults.

The application deadline is October 1 for the winter start and April 1 for the summer start.