Tami Haaland

Montana State University Billings 1500 University Drive
Billings, MT 59101
(406) 657-2948

Author's Bio

Tami Haaland is the author of three poetry collections, What Does Not Return (2018), When We Wake in the Night (2012), and Breath in Every Room (2001), winner of the Nicholas Roerich First Book Award. She earned a BA and MA in English Literature from the University of Montana and an MFA in Creative Writing and Literature from Bennington College. Haaland has offered creative writing workshops in prisons, schools, and community settings and was Montana’s Poet Laureate from August 2013 to October 2015. She is as professor at Montana State University Billings.

Publications and Prizes

Breath in Every Room
(Story Line Press, 2001)
, What Does Not Return
(Lost Horse Press, 2018)
, When We Wake in the Night
(WordTech Editions, 2012)
The Ecopoetry Anthology
(Trinity University Press, 2013)
Big Sky Journal, Collateral
Prizes Won: 
Nicholas Roerich First Book Award, Poet Laureate of Montana 2013-15, Montana Arts Council Artist Innovation Award, Finalist for the May Swenson Award 

More Information

Listed as: 
Gives readings: 
Travels for readings: 
Prefers to work with: 
Any, Naturalists/Environmentalists, Teachers
Fluent in: 
Born in: 
Raised in: 
Please note: All information in the Directory is provided by the listed writers or their representatives.
Last updated: May 29, 2018