| Give a Gift |

  • Digital Edition

Ohio University Press Extends Poetry Prize Deadline

Read more from G&A: The Contest Blog

A blog from: Poets & Writers Magazine

Posted by Prize Reporter on 11.06.12

Due to the recent effects of Hurricane Sandy, Ohio University Press has extended the deadline for the Hollis Summers Poetry Prize to November 15. The annual competition, which awards a $1,000 cash prize and publication by Ohio University Press, is given for a poetry collection.

Poets may submit previously unpublished manuscripts of sixty to ninety-five pages, along with a $25 entry fee, to Ohio University Press, 19 Circle Drive, The Ridges, Athens, Ohio 45701. The competition is open to poets who have published a full-length collection and those who have not. For more information and complete submission guidelines, visit the Ohio University Press website.

The annual prize is named for the poet Hollis Summers, who taught at Ohio University for many years and frequently wrote about the city of Athens in his poems. 

Poet Nick Norwood won last year’s prize for his third full-length collection, Gravel & Hawk, published this past April by Ohio University Press. In the podcast below from the PBS NewsHour program “Art Beat,” hear Nick read the poem “A.M.” from his winning collection.

Reader Comments

  • Sinibaldi says...

    In the sound

    of a shadow

    full of happiness,

    near a lonesome

    desire calling

    the present

    and a delicate


    Francesco Sinibaldi

  • mindeseye says...

    But the end is not the end, for life is a preset for shadows, as the sun rises up from the mountains, glory of the earth. Filled with the air but shadows remain. To the am to the pm nothing ever stays the same. Broken yet calmed, constrained yet belong some things are best left unspoken By: Frederick Wittman

  • Robert Hagedorn says...

    Google First Scandal.

Subscribe to P&W Magazine | Donate Now | Advertise | Sign up for E-Newsletter | Help | About Us | Contact Us | View Mobile Site

© Copyright Poets & Writers 2016. All Rights Reserved