Five African Writers Shortlisted for $15,000 Caine Prize

by Staff

The nominees for the 2003 Caine Prize for African writing were recently announced. The annual prize is given for the best short story published in English by an African writer whose work reflects African sensibilities. The winner, to be announced on July 14, receives £9,000 (approximately $15,000).

The Caine Prize nominees:
Ken Barris of South Africa for "Clubfoot"
George Makana Clark of Zimbabwe for "A is for Ancestor"
Emmanuel Dongala of the Congo for "Ouagadougou"

Rachelle Greeff of South Africa for "Tell Him it is Never Too Late"
Yvonne Adhiambo Owuor of Kenya for "Weight of Whispers"

The judges are Abdulrazak Gurnah, Shirley Chew, John Sutherland, and Nana Wilson-Tagoe.