Sign in or Register | Help | Contact Us

Advanced Search

Main Index » Writing and Publishing » MFA Programs
Why an MFA --- MA vs MFA
You are not signed in. Click here to sign in.
If you are not a member, Register here!
135905 registered users
First page Previous page 1 2 3 Next page Last page  View All

tina cane

Oct 22, 2004, 9:29 AM

Post #1 of 56 (10729 views)
Shortcut
Why an MFA --- MA vs MFA Can't Post

I'm writing a short essay on the pros and cons of MFA programs for poets. I, myself, am a poet who does not have an MFA. I did my graduate degree (lit) in France. A well-established poet once told me, when I expressed regret over not having done an MFA, that it's better
that way since workshops often produce students who become overly influenced by their teachers. I don't have that problem, but often feeI outside of a network that might help me publish more of my work. Another friend once complained that his program was producing students who felt the degree "made" or legitimized them as poets. I wonder, what is the true value of an MFA for the poet?

(This post was edited by motet on Feb 12, 2006, 6:22 PM)

pongo
Buy this book!

Oct 22, 2004, 11:49 AM

Post #2 of 56 (10716 views)
Shortcut
Re: [tina cane] Why an MFA? Can't Post

Some people actually learn a lot while getting an MFA. That's the main reason to get one. Some schools offer good networking prospects, and a few people will get teacing jobs with MFA's, but as a rule the only reason to get one is to improve your writing.

As far as the workshops turning out uniform material, well, that's a problem with workshops of all sorts, not just MFA workshops. You have to choose wisely.

dmh

wiswriter
Bob S.

Oct 22, 2004, 11:58 AM

Post #3 of 56 (10715 views)
Shortcut
Re: [tina cane] Why an MFA? Can't Post