Sign in or Register | Help | Contact Us

Advanced Search

Main Index » Writing and Publishing » MFA Programs
Iowa MFA
You are not signed in. Click here to sign in.
If you are not a member, Register here!
139144 registered users
First page Previous page 1 ... 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 ... 19 Next page Last page  View All

spamela

Mar 14, 2008, 12:29 PM

Post #301 of 466 (12365 views)
Shortcut
Re: [ellen362] I know you're out there Can't Post

This could potentially be VERY bad for writing students at Iowa. I used to be a book editor so I can tell you for a fact that a) no publisher will want to publish material that is available online for free and b) publishers HATE Google and to be legally embroiled or wrapped up with Google will not do you any favors when you attempt to publish your MFA thesis.

All current and incoming Iowa students should take a firm stand against this. It is very bad for each of you individually and it sets a bad precedent for other writing programs, some of which still regard Iowa as THE model for how a workshop should be run. This "contract" that Iowa wants you to sign devalues your worth and work as a writer. Stand against it.

popeye

Mar 14, 2008, 4:21 PM

Post #302 of 466 (12273 views)
Shortcut
Iowa / Google Can't Post

In regards to the issue of digital publication of creative theses, I have been given assurances from the University that the policy is currently being revised in a manner that will satisfy all the concerns of current and future students at the workshop.

I will post more information here as it becomes available. For further discussion on the topic I suggest both the Iowa MFA blog and Seth's blog.

http://iowamfa.blogspot.com/

http://www.sethabramson.blogspot.com/

Hopefully this will all be taken care of by Monday.

ellen362

Mar 14, 2008, 7:20 PM

Post #303 of 466 (12201 views)
Shortcut
Re: [popeye] Iowa / Google Can't Post

Popeye,