Sign in or Register | Help | Contact Us

Advanced Search

Main Index » Writing and Publishing » MFA Programs
Brown University MFA
You are not signed in. Click here to sign in.
If you are not a member, Register here!
135535 registered users
First page Previous page 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 14 Next page Last page  View All

jeleri

Jan 29, 2008, 11:43 AM

Post #151 of 346 (5820 views)
Shortcut
Re: [februarystar27] submitted to brown Can't Post

In response to your question about Brown: I am not applying for playwriting, (applied at Brown for fiction) but I was a theatre major in undergrad, and I've been working as an actor and producer for a few years. I worked with someone who was friends with Paula Vogel, and also have a friend who studied with her. She's supposed to be amazing as a teacher/mentor. Her work is somewhat experimental (quirky, strange characters), but it's not Richard Foreman experimental (whistling, banging, disembodied words and shouts). Hope that helps. Good luck!!!

jcorcora

Jan 29, 2008, 11:55 AM

Post #152 of 346 (5812 views)
Shortcut
Re: [jeleri] submitted to brown Can't Post

Hello,
I went to Brown for undergrad and studied fiction and playwriting. There is certainly an experimental bent to the creative writing program, but I think you'll find that all of the professors have deep training in and an appreciation for traditional narratives. That is to say, many (not all) of the professors have an interest in pushing the boundaries of traditional works, not breaking them. They have a large enough department that there is someone for everyone, so to speak.

Also, I just read in the NY Times that Paula Vogel is leaving Brown and heading to ?Yale? (you'll have to google that).

februarystar27

Jan 29, 2008, 12:09 PM

Post #153 of 346 (5805 views)
Shortcut