| Give a Gift |

  • Digital Edition

Taos Summer Writers’ Conference

Taos Summer Writers’ Conference
Taos, New Mexico
E-mail address:

The 16th annual Taos Summer Writers’ Conference was held from July 13 to July 20 at the Sagebrush Inn and Conference Center in Taos, New Mexico. The conference offered weekend and weeklong workshops in poetry, fiction, creative nonfiction, and publishing, as well as master classes, readings, manuscript consultations, and a visit to the nearby D. H. Lawrence Ranch. The faculty included poets Amy Beeder, Laura Brodie, Veronica Golos, and Leslie Ullman; fiction writers John Dufresne, Minrose Gwin, Pam Houston, Priscilla Long, B. K. Loren, Michael Maren, Demetria Martinez, Kent Nelson, Les Standiford, and Summer Wood; creative nonfiction writers Stephen Benz, Greg Martin, Debra Monroe, and Justin St. Germain; editors Nancy Naomi Carlson (Tupelo Press) and Elise McHugh (University of New Mexico Press); and agents Allison Hunter and Alexis Hurley (Inkwell Management), and Jane Von Mehren (Zachary Shuster Harmsworth). Each workshop was limited to 12 participants; each master class was limited to six participants. Tuition was $350 for a weekend workshop, $650 for a weeklong workshop, or $975 for both; tuition for master classes was $750 each plus an additional reading fee of $500 to $775 for manuscripts up to 300 pages. For master classes, applicants submitted 15 to 20 pages of a manuscript with a $35 application fee. Room rates at the conference hotel ranged from $74 to $114 per night; lodging at other nearby hotels and inns was also available at discounted rates. Financial aid was available. The deadline for general registration was July 20. Visit the website for more information.

Taos Summer Writers’ Conference, MSC03 2170, 1 University of New Mexico, Albuquerque, NM 87131. (505) 277-5572. Sharon Oard Warner, Director.

Back to Conferences and Residencies Database Listings

Subscribe to P&W Magazine | Donate Now | Advertise | Sign up for E-Newsletter | Help | About Us | Contact Us | View Mobile Site

© Copyright Poets & Writers 2015. All Rights Reserved